Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Me on Waiting on Wednesday (267)

Waiting on Wednesday is a bunch of weekly fun hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. :)

Title: Beast
Author: Brie Spangler
Release Date: October 11, 2016
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

From Goodreads:

A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching novel that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan.

Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn't look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg—and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers. 

Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy—until he meets Jamie. She's funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She's also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie's humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn't know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn't listening. Something that shouldn't change a thing. She is who she's always been—an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way?

I'm really looking forward to this. Like Of Fire & Stars, I'm looking forward to the books that are coming out that are new versions of fairy tales and fantasy novels. Books with gay and lesbian and bisexual and transgender main characters. I do hope it's done well with this book, that Jamie isn't trans just to add in a trans character. That it works, that it makes sense, that it fits with how the story unfolds.


  1. This sounds like a really good one! Thanks for sharing I'll have to go add it into my TBR on Goodreads.
    Check out my WOW

  2. Oh, this sounds amazing! I am intrigued at the choice of the title, and how it fits Dylan, and for some (bgoted) people in this world, it'd fit Jamie too, though she's anything but. It sounds wrenching, but in a good way, you know? Here's mine: