Friday, February 26, 2016

Me on Their Fractured Light

Title: Their Fractured Light
Authors: Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
Release Date: December 1, 2015
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

A year ago, Flynn Cormac and Jubilee Chase made the now infamous Avon Broadcast, calling on the galaxy to witness for their planet, and protect them from destruction. A year before that, Tarver Merendsen and Lilac LaRoux were rescued from a terrible shipwreck—now, they live a public life in front of the cameras, and a secret life away from the world's gaze. Now, in the center of the universe on the planet of Corinth, all four are about to collide with two new players, who will bring the fight against LaRoux Industries to a head. Gideon Marchant is an eighteen-year-old computer hacker—a whiz kid and an urban warrior. He'll climb, abseil and worm his way past the best security measures to pull off onsite hacks that others dont dare touch. Sofia Quinn has a killer smile, and by the time you're done noticing it, she's got you offering up your wallet, your car, and anything else she desires. She holds LaRoux Industries responsible for the mysterious death of her father and is out for revenge at any cost. When a LaRoux Industries security breach interrupts Gideon and Sofia's separate attempts to infiltrate their headquarters, they're forced to work together to escape. Each of them has their own reason for wanting to take down LaRoux Industries, and neither trusts the other. But working together might be the best chance they have to expose the secrets LRI is so desperate to hide.

Their Fractured Light is the last in a series that has traveled the stars, ripped apart planets, and revealed that perhaps humans are not alone in the universe.

Sofia is a lonely girl bent on revenge, determined to con her way up to the top and put an end to Roderick LaRoux and his less than ethical dealings. Make him pay for the death of her father. Gideon is a tech whiz, spending his days and nights searching out the secrets that LaRoux Industries hides from the rest of the known universe. Both are passionate, determined, scarred, and stubborn. Neither trust the other, not at the start. How could they?

The interludes, the memories and the words of the whispers, as Lilac calls them, are haunting and thoughtful. Here is an intriguing alien life form, a sort of consciousness, and their encounter with the human race. Through their words we see the highest points of humanity, our ability to love and laugh and create, and the worst. The hatred and the revenge. The warring, the imprisonment. The manipulation. The destruction. And it makes them wonder, it makes them curious. It makes them cautious. And it makes one vengeful.

Everyone comes together in this book, like they were all fated to come together. To learn the truth about the whispers. To help them. To stop their suffering. The fact that each book has focused on different characters shows that in something epic like this, it isn't just one or two people who fight back, who struggle. It's a group of people who all have parts to play, who all have hopes and dreams, who all suffer because of someone's megalomania. This book, this series, has been all about hope and faith and trust. About those parts of the human condition that we can't escape from. The parts that push us forward towards our goals.

(I borrowed a copy of this book from the library.)

No comments:

Post a Comment