Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Me on Waiting on Wednesday (146)

Waiting on Wednesday is a bunch of weekly fun hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. :)

Title: The Inventor's Secret
Author: Andrea Cremer
Release Date: April 22, 2014
Publisher: Philomel (Penguin imprint)

From Goodreads:

New from Andrea Cremer, the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade novels, comes an action-packed alternate-history steampunk adventure.

In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks.

The Inventor’s Secret is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners, Cassandra Clare's Clockwork Angel, Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan and Phillip Reeve's Mortal Instruments.

More steampunk. I hope it's good steampunk. I'm slightly wary of the American setting, but there's an adult steampunk series I've been slowly reading and they travel outside of the UK, so it can work. The world-building here will have to be spot-on.

6 comments:

  1. I never realised it was like a 'thing' for steampunk to be British, I shall have to investigate! This does sound quite interesting and I enjoyed her first novel Nightshade (although I'm still mad Calla didn't pick the guy I wanted her too at the end of the trilogy, lol). I shall watch out for reviews. Thanks for highlighting this one honey, cool pick!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great pick. I really like the description. Thanks for sharing :)

    new follower

    http://www.itchingforbooks.com/2013/09/waiting-on-wednesday-66-pointe-oblivion.html

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds really interesting! Thanks for sharing.
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  4. Awesome choice, I'll be sure to add it to my TBR list. ;D

    By the way, we are giving away a SIGNED copy of Frozen by Melissa De La Cruz & Michael Johnston! Make sure to stop by and enter! :)

    Waiting on Wednesday
    Andy @ Owl Always Be Reading

    ReplyDelete